ADOPTIONS

(a)
DIVISION OF FAMILY DEVELOPMENT

New Jersey Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (NJ SNAP)

Elimination of the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) Family Cap

Provisions

Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 10:87-2.32 and 5.7

Proposed: April 7, 2025, at 57 N.J.R. 647(a).

Adopted: August 18, 2025, by Sarah Adelman, Commissioner,
Department of Human Services.

Filed: August 18, 2025, as R.2025 d.108, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 30:1-12; and P.L. 2020, c. 99.

Effective Date: September 15, 2025.
Expiration Date: November 16, 2029.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The official comment period ended June 6, 2025. The Division of
Family Development received one comment from Jean Public.

COMMENT: Jean Public commented on the public’s general
disapproval of the elimination of the family cap and expressed concern
about increased program costs.

RESPONSE: Jean Public’s comments are beyond the scope of this
rulemaking. P.L. 2020, c. 99 removed the family cap from the statute.
These amendments delete outdated references. Additionally, New Jersey
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (NJ SNAP) benefits were not
impacted by the family cap.

Federal Standards Statement
The Department of Human Services has reviewed the applicable
Federal laws and regulations and that review indicates that the adopted
amendments impact the NJ SNAP program. The adopted amendments do
not exceed Federal standards, including those at 7 CFR 272 and 7 CFR
273; therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required for this
rulemaking.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 2. THE APPLICATION PROCESS

10:87-2.32 Categorically eligible WFNJ/TANF/SSI households

(a) Any household, except those listed at (c) below, in which all
members are authorized to receive WEFNJ/TANF/SSI benefits shall be
considered categorically eligible for the NJ SNAP program, unless the
household is institutionalized or disqualified for any reason from
receiving NJ SNAP benefits. This includes the following households:
those in which all members receive or are authorized to receive cash
through a public assistance program funded in full or in part with Federal
Title IV-A or New Jersey State money counted as Maintenance of Effort
(MOE) purposes; those in which all members receive or are authorized to
receive non-cash or in-kind benefits, funded with more than 50 percent
State money counted as MOE or Federal money pursuant to Title IV-A
designed to forward purposes one and two of the TANF block grant; and
those in which all members receive or are authorized to receive non-cash
or in-kind benefits, funded with more than 50 percent State money
designed to forward purposes three and four of the TANF block grant, and
requires participants to have a gross monthly income at or below 200
percent of the Federal poverty level.

1.-4. (No change.)

(b)-(s) (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 5. FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY; INCOME

10:87-5.7 Special income situations

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) The rules for failure to comply with public assistance (PA) program
requirements (also known as “The Riverside Rule”) ban an increase in NJ
SNAP program benefits when income from the WFNJ/TANF/GA
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programs is decreased (reduced or suspended) as a result of failure to
comply with a program requirement and a sanction has been imposed.

1.-2. (No change.)

3. The PA amount to be considered as income for NJ SNAP purposes
shall be the pre-sanction amount. This pre-sanction amount shall be used
until the sanction is removed.

i. If a new member is added to the PA household during the period of
sanction, the TANF grant increases and the calculation of NJ SNAP
benefits shall be based on the new TANF grant amount as the TANF
countable income. The new member added to the PA household will also
increase the NJ SNAP benefit amount since the new person is also added
to the NJ SNAP household.

4.-10. (No change.)

(d) The following are good cause reasons for not applying the
Riverside Rule. The ban on increasing benefits does not apply under these
circumstances.

1. (No change.)

Recodifying existing 3.-5. as 2.-4. (No change in text.)

(b)
DIVISION OF FAMILY DEVELOPMENT

New Jersey Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (NJ SNAP)
Eligibility Factors Other Than Need

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 10:87-3.17

Proposed: March 17, 2025, at 57 N.J.R. 522(a).

Adopted: August 18, 2025, by Sarah Adelman, Commissioner,
Department of Human Services.

Filed: August 18, 2025, as R.2025 d.110, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 30:1-12.

Effective Date: September 15, 2025.
Expiration Date: November 16, 2029.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
The official comment period ended May 16, 2025. The Division of
Family Development received no comments.

Federal Standards Statement
The Department of Human Services has reviewed the applicable
Federal laws and regulations and that review indicates that the adopted
amendments impact the New Jersey Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program. The adopted amendment does not exceed Federal standards,
including those at 7 CFR 272 and 7 CFR 273; therefore, a Federal
standards analysis is not required for this rulemaking.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 3. ELIGIBILITY FACTORS OTHER THAN NEED

10:87-3.17 Fleeing felons and probation or parole violators

(a) Individuals are ineligible for the NJ SNAP program benefits and
disqualified from participation in SNAP while they are fleeing to avoid
prosecution, custody, or confinement for a felony (high misdemeanor) or
attempted felony (attempted high misdemeanor), or for violating a
condition of probation or parole pursuant to Federal or state law. The
CSSA may only disqualify an individual from the SNAP program, and
make such necessary adjustment to the household’s benefits, if they are
considered a fleeing felon or a probation or parole violator as defined in
this section:

1. An individual is considered a fleeing felon when a Federal, state, or
local law enforcement officer, acting in their official capacity, confirms
that they are actively seeking the fleeing felon and presents to the CSSA
an outstanding felony (high misdemeanor) arrest warrant that conforms to
one of the following National Crime Information Center Uniform Offense
Classification Codes:

i. Escape (4901);

ii. Flight to Avoid (prosecution, confinement, etc.) (4902); or
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iii. Flight-Escape (4999).

2. An individual is considered a probation or parole violator when an
impartial party (such as, but not limited to, a court or parole board) has
determined that the individual violated a condition of their probation or
parole as imposed pursuant to Federal or state law and that Federal, state,
or local law enforcement authorities are actively seeking the individual to
enforce the conditions of their probation or parole.

(b) Actively seeking, as used at (a) above, shall mean:

1. A Federal, state, or local law enforcement agency informing the
CSSA that it intends to enforce an outstanding felony (high misdemeanor)
warrant or to arrest an individual for a probation or parole violation within
20 days of submitting a request for information about the individual to the
CSSA; or

2. A Federal, state, or local law enforcement agency informing the
CSSA that it intends to enforce an outstanding felony (high misdemeanor)
warrant or to arrest an individual for a probation or parole violation within
30 days of the date of a request from the CSSA about a specific
outstanding felony (high misdemeanor) warrant or probation or parole
violation.

(c) The CSSA shall give a law enforcement agency 20 days to respond
to a request for information about the conditions of a felony (high
misdemeanor) warrant or a probation or parole violation and as to whether
or not the law enforcement agency intends to actively pursue the
individual.

1. If the law enforcement agency does not indicate it intends to enforce
the felony (high misdemeanor) warrant or arrest the individual for the
probation or parole violation within 30 days of the date of the CSSA’s
request for information about the warrant, the CSSA shall determine that
the individual is not a fleeing felon or a probation or parole violator and
update the case file accordingly.

2. If the law enforcement agency does intend to enforce the felony
(high misdemeanor) warrant or arrest the individual for the probation or
parole violation within 30 days of the CSSA’s request for information, the
CSSA will postpone any action on the case file until the 30-day time
period has expired.

3. At the conclusion of 30 days, the CSSA shall verify with the law
enforcement agency whether it has attempted to execute the felony (high
misdemeanor) warrant or arrest the probation or parole violator. If the law
enforcement agency has taken such action, the CSSA shall deny an
applicant or terminate a participant who has been determined to be a
fleeing felon or probation or parole violator. If the law enforcement
agency has not taken such action, the CSSA shall not consider the
individual to be a fleeing felon or probation or parole violator, shall
document the case accordingly, and shall take no further action.

(d) The CSSA shall continue the processing of any SNAP application
while awaiting verification from a law enforcement agency that an
individual is a fleeing felon or probation or parole violator. If program
timeframes, including timeframes for expedited service pursuant to
NJ.A.C. 10:87-2.28 through 2.30, require the CSSA to process the
application before verification of fleeing felon or probation or parole
violator status can be determined, the CSSA should process the
application without consideration of the individual’s status.

1. The existence of an outstanding felony (high misdemeanor) arrest
warrant for any crime not set forth at (a)l above shall not be sufficient to
deny SNAP benefits based upon fleeing felon status, even if the individual
is aware of an outstanding warrant.

2.If an individual self-declares that they are a fleeing felon or a
probation or parole violator, the CSSA must verify such information from
an independent source before accepting any self-declaration as true.

3.If an individual declares that a warrant has been satisfied, the
individual shall be given the opportunity to submit documentation of such
warrant having been satisfied.

(CITE 57 N.J.R. 2268)

ADOPTIONS

(@)
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH
SERVICES

Notice of Readoption
Medicaid Only

Readoption: N.J.A.C. 10:71
Authority: N.J.S.A. 30:4D-1 et seq., and 30:4J-8 et seq.

Authorized By: Sarah Adelman, Commissioner, Department of
Human Services.

Effective Date: August 14, 2025.
New Expiration Date: August 14, 2032.

Take notice that pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1, the rules at N.J.A.C.
10:71, Medicaid Only, were scheduled to expire on October 23, 2025. The
chapter regulates the Medicaid Only program for aged, blind, and disabled
individuals. The Department of Human Services (Department) proposes
to readopt the chapter without change.

The chapter includes nine subchapters, described as follows:

Subchapter 1, Introduction, explains the Medicaid Only program and
describes which populations qualify for participation in the program if
they meet all eligibility requirements. It also describes the administrative
organization and principles of administration of the program and provides
for availability of public review of the program rules.

Subchapter 2, The Application Process, provides definitions for use in
the chapter, describes the Medicaid Only program application process and
states the responsibilities of beneficiaries, the county board of social
services, and the central office of the Division of Medical Assistance and
Health Services (Division). It also describes the administrative procedures
used throughout the application process and the process for allowing
applicants to apply for retroactive eligibility.

Subchapter 3, Eligibility Factors, explains factors regarding eligibility
for the Medicaid Only program that are not related to financial
requirements, such as citizenship, alien status documentation, residence,
age, disability, and blindness. It also describes the responsibilities and
procedures of the county board of social services relating to these factors.
Additionally, it regulates payment or non-payment for institutional care
and advises of the resources available from the Division’s Medical
Assistance Customer Centers.

Subchapter 4, Resources, explains the process of distinguishing
countable resources from excludable resources in determining eligibility
for the Medicaid Only program, and sets forth the standards and limits. It
also explains the requirements regarding deeming of resources. It also sets
forth specific rules regarding the resources of couples when one spouse is
institutionalized and the other spouse remains in the community.
Additionally, the subchapter regulates the use of trusts and the transfer of
assets as they relate to eligibility.

Subchapter 5, Income, sets forth income limits for beneficiaries in
various living arrangements. In addition, the subchapter sets forth criteria
for includable and excludable income and requirements regarding
deeming of income. It also contains criteria for post-eligibility treatment
of income for institutionalized individuals and explains eligibility
pursuant to life care and pay-as-you-go agreements. It also regulates
deeming from sponsors to aliens.

Subchapter 6, Case Records and Files, explains the contents of, and the
responsibilities of maintaining, the official case records of the Medicaid
Only program.

Subchapter 7, Other Payments, explains other payments for which
Medicaid Only program beneficiaries may qualify in certain situations,
such as funeral expenses, travel costs for health care, childcare, and other
payments.

Subchapter 8, Responsibilities, explains other agency responsibilities,
such as determinations of continuing eligibility, recording and notice
requirements, redeterminations of medical eligibility, responding to
complaints and requests for fair hearings, responding to fraud, reporting
criminal offenses to law enforcement authorities, safeguarding
information, and observing nondiscrimination requirements.
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